Citizen Committee formed to improve Larkana’s condition

LARKANA: The Commissioner, Larkana Division, Ghulam Akbar Laghari, has constituted Citizen Committee to improve the conditions of Larkano City in compliance to the order of the SHC, Circuit Court, Larkana. He will be the Patron-in-Chief and Deputy Commissioner as Patron.

The committee shall have four ex-officio members which include presidents of High Court Bar, District Bar, Larkano Chamber of Commerce & Industry and assistant commissioner, Larkana. It shall also consist of 22 members from civil society which include the sitting PPP president, UC-17 elected chairman Khair Mohammad Shaikh, Nawab Qalab Hussain Lahori, CMCH AMS Dr. Muzaffar Chandio, Advocate Kalapna Devi of Hindu Panchyat, Bashir Ahmed Shad, Mukhtiar Samo, Prof Jam Jamali, Dr. Fayaz Latif, Anwar Ali Khokhar, Dr. Amna Soomro, Qazi Asghar Ali, President LCCI, PPP City general secretary, UC-14 elected chairman Aslam Shaikh, Hafiz Suleman Shaikh, Azam Shaikh, Dr. Salim Shaikh, senior journalist Moula Bakhsh Kalhoro, Ahmed Farooqui Chairman of Red Crescent, Panjal Sangi, Dr. Tanveer Khichi, Dr. Sabeeha Mughal, Dr. Sakina Gad and arts council vice president Abdul Sattar Khuhawar.

The terms of reference of the committee include that the chairman of committee will be selected by the majority of members from civil society, the notification added. No ex-officio members will be selected as chairman and the committee shall visit Larkana city and point out the issues/problems through chairman regarding cleanliness, drainage, drinking water, encroachments, traffic issues, hospital issues, issues relating to education staff & institutions, street lights, suggestions for improvement of law & order, sports, cultural & literary activities.

The committee shall meet at least once in a month. It shall play the role of bridge between administration and public at large. Since this will be a voluntary forum, no TA or DA, or other financial benefits are admissible or would be claimed, it concluded.

Related Posts