CPEC: (Report submitted to PM on establishment of economic zones)

ISLAMABAD: A special committee on Tuesday submitted a report with the Prime Minister on the establishment of free economic zones on the western route of the Pakistan China Economic Corridor (CPEC).

The Prime Minister had formed the committee to identify locations where economic zones could be feasibly developed. Five locations have been identified in Khuzdar, Quetta and Turbat for the special economic zones.

Sites have also been identified in Bostan, and at intersection of Killa Saifullah, Zhob, and Loralai. The sites have been handed over to the Chinese government for development. Seven sites have been identified in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa as well.

The locations for the free economic zones of the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa are Mansehra, Nowshera, Hattar, Ghazi, and DI Khan. The border of Karak and Kohat has also been identified as suitable for the establishment of a free economic zone, as well as Bannu district.