Election (NA-19 by-election today)

HARIPUR: By-election in NA-19 (Haripur) will held today (Sunday) and electioneering in the constituency has come to an end on Friday night.

A statement by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said the delivery process of ballot papers has been completed and they were handed over to presiding officers on (Saturday).

Over 5.7 million people are expected to vote and 513 polling stations have been set up in the constituency. Nine candidates are running for the vacant seat out of which four are independents.

Babar Nawaz is the PML-N candidate, PTI is fielding Raja Amir Zaman, PPP Mohammad Tahir. The PML-S and APML also have candidates running in the election.

The Supreme Court of Pakistan had ordered re-election in NA-19 after PTI’s Raja Amir Zaman had challenged PML-N’s Umer Ayaub’s win in the 2013 general elections.