Hasnain to lead Pakistan in inaugural five-nation disabled cricket tourney

Karachi: Hasnain Alam has been picked to lead Pakistan disabled cricket team in the inaugural Five-Nation ICRC International Cricket Tournament, which begins September to be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka (Bangladesh).

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is organizing is this tournament in cooperation with the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). Apart from Pakistan and host Bangladesh, disabled cricket teams of England, Afghanistan and India will also be seen in action during the tournament.

The opening match will be played between England and host Bangladesh on September 2 at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

On the occasion of opening ceremony, the Prime Minister of Bangladesh Begum Hasina Wajid will be the chief guest.

Former Captain Pakistan Team and Ambassador Pakistan Disabled Cricket Association (PDCA) Rashid Latif and Hon. Secretary PDCA Amir Uddin Ansari held a press briefing on Wednesday here at National Stadium to announce the team.

PDCA Founder President Saleem Karim, Former Test Cricket Iqbal Qasim, Senior Manager NSK Arshad Khan and Media Manager Mohammad Nizam were also present on the occasion.

Amir Uddin Ansari thanked Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for extending a helping hand and has given official national kit with PCB logo. PCB has also given Rs five million for the event.

“We are very grateful and thankful to PCB for their help and we hope that this cooperation will also continue in future as well,” Amir said.

Six batsmen, four pacers, three spinners and as many all-rounders have been selected to represent Pakistan in the tournament.

The selected cricketers will assemble at PCB Regional Academy in Karachi on August 25. Six-day training Camp will commence on the same day.

The team is scheduled to leave for Bangladesh via Dubai in the wee hours of August 31 from Karachi. The team would also practice at BKSP Cricket Ground in Dhaka on September 1.

It will play its first match of the event against Afghanistan on September 3 at BKSP Cricket Ground. The final of the tournament will also be played at BKSP Cricket Ground on September 10.


Hasnain Alam (Captain), Rao Javed (Vice Captain), Matloob Qureshi, Rehan Ghani Mirza, Danish Ahmed (WK), Jahanzaib Tiwana, Abdullah Afridi, Abdullah, Farhan Saeed, Abdullah Ejaz, Umaiz-ul-Rehman, Fayyaz Ahmed, Ameer Ahmed, Nihaar Alam, Arif Richard, Mohammad Fayyaz. Reserve: Iqbal Hussain, Altaf Ahmed, Ashfaq Shakir, Sadeem Baig. Team Officials: Amir Uddin Ansari (Manager), Mohammad Nizam (Asst. Manager/Media Manager), Zaffar Iqbal Choudhry (Coach), Mohammad Javed (Assistant Coach), Dr. Noman Palikar (Team Doctor), Mohammad Shakir Khilji (Video Analyst), Rashid Latif (Ambassador PDCA).

Karachi: Nestlé Pakistan recently signed an agreement with Oxford University Press for curriculum development for
Karachi: Karachi Water and Sewerage Board (KWSB) here Thursday declared illegal constructions and encroachments over
KARACHI: Four persons, including a woman, were injured in a traffic incident in Nazimabad area