CPNE finalizes election monitoring in Sindh

KARACHI: Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) has decided to play a positive role for the democratic transition of power between one elected government to other and to conduct free & fair and peace general elections next month successfully.

This was decided during CPNE Sindh Committee meeting held here at its Secretariat at Karachi, Chaired by Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi.

The programs finalized during the meeting were included to conduct a training workshop in collaboration with Pakistan Election Commission (PEC) for journalists to discharge their professional duties independently and without any pressure at the time of the coverage election activities. CPNE has also decided to motivate the general public to cast their votes without any fear and to show a large turn out on polling day.

CPNE will also conduct “MEET THE EDITORS program” in which leaders of political parties Participating in next general election shall be invited at CPNE Secretariat to highlight major points of their party manifesto.

CPNE Sindh Committee also reviewed security of journalists issue while covering election activities and decided to meet with PEC officials, IG Sindh Police and D.G. Rangers to discuss measures taken in this regard.

CPNE will also finalize visits of its member editors to polling stations on election day in coordination with PEC, PID and Sindh Information departments. It was also decided to monitor polling activities and announcement of results by establishing a central Election Cell at CPNE Secretariat at Karachi and Districts Election Cells at Hyderabad and Sukkur which will work from May 11 to finalization of results.

The Committee also offered fateha on the death of Z.A. Nizami, Vice Chancellor Sir Syed University, mother of Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi and Rai Farooq, Reporter Daily Times.

Those who attended the CPNE Sind Committee were included Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi, Chairman of Sindh Committee, Aamer Mahmood , Secretary General, CPNE, Dr.Jabbar Khattak, Hamid Hussain Abadi, Ilyas Shakir, Ather Hashmi, Javaid Mehar Shamsi, Saeed Khawar, Abdul Khaliq Marshal, Ghulam Nabi Chandio, Mukhtar Aqil, Anwar Farooqi,Najamuddin Shaikh, Muzaffar Ejaz, Kazi Mustufa Asad Abbasi, Yunus Mehar, Ghulam Rabbani, Muhammad Ashraf Qureshi, Usman Satti, Kamran Rizvi, Abdul Rehman Mangrio, Salman Qureshi, Zahida Abbasi and Durdana Shahab member editors CPNE.

Related Posts