PPP fields two minority candidates on general seats in Sindh

Karachi: Pakistan Peoples’ Party has fielded two minority candidates on general seats in Sindh. They include Engr. Gianchand Meghwar as PPP candidate from PS-60 Tharparkar-I against former Chief Minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim making it one of the most interesting contest in general elections 2013. Another minority candidate, Mahesh Kumar Malani has been nominated by PPP on PS-61 Tharparkar-II.

Engr. Gianchand was elected as MPA in 1993 through direct vote and contested elections against Arbab Ghulam Rahim in 2002 fetching 13,000 votes despite worst rigging, manipulation and intimidation of Dalit voters, whom Engr. Gianchand belongs. He was also covering candidate of PPP against the nominated Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz in 2004 in bye-election from Thar.

Related Posts