President constitutes NEC

Islamabad: The President Asif Ali Zardari on the advice of the Prime Minister has constituted National Economic Council NEC in terms of Article 1561 of the Constitution, says a press release.

Article 1561 of the Constitution states that the NEC shall be constituted by the President comprising of the Prime Minister as the chairman of the Council, the Chief Ministers and one member from each provinces, to be nominated by the Chief Minister, and four other members as the Prime Minister may nominate from time to time.

Spokesperson to the President Senator Farhatullah Babar said that the composition of the NEC would be as follows;

1. The Prime Minister
Member nominated by the Prime Minister
1. Mr. Muhammad Ishaq Dar
2. Mr. Ahsan Iqbal
3. Mr. Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi
4. Khwaja Mohammad Asif
From Provinces;
1. Chief Minister Punjab
2. Minister for Finance, Government of the Punjab
3. Chief Minister Sind
4. Syed Murad Ali Shah, Advisor to Chief Minister Sind on Finance
5. Chief Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
6. Mr. Sirajulhaq, Senior Minister for Finance, KPK
7. Chief Minister Balochistan
8. Mr. Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal, MPA, Balochistan
The Summary says that the following would also be invited by Special
invitation to attend the meetings of NEC;
1. Governor, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
2. Prime Minister, Azad Jammu & Kashmir
3. Chief Minister, Gilgit-Baltistan
4. Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
5. Secretary Finance Division
6. Secretary Economic Affairs Division
7. Secretary Planning & Development Division

Islamabad: Finance Minister Ishaq Dar has categorically stated that a friendly country has given 1.5
Islamabad: The Ambassador of Iran Mr. Alreza Haighighian called on the Federal Minister for States
Islamabad: Mrs. Kati Marton, the widow of late US Ambassador Richard Holbrooke and Executive Member