VCs’ Committee discusses Sindh Universities Law

Jamshoro: The Vice Chancellors’ committee of public sector universities met on Sunday at Vice Chancellor’s house of Sindh University Jamshoro and discussed in detail on Sindh Universities Law Amendment Bill, 2013.

The committee prepared recommendations which were decided to be sent to the Chief Minister Sindh Syed Qaim Ali Shah and Provincial Minister for Education Nisar Ahmed Khuhro.

According to a release, the meeting was held under Prof. Dr. Nazir A. Mughal, Vice Chancellor which discussed on the amendment bill, 2013 and on the basis of detail discussion some recommendations were prepared.

Dr. Mughal told the meeting that he had met Nisar Ahmed Khuhro who asked him to have a meeting of VCs’ committee in order to discuss and bring forth the objections if any as the minister thinks that all the vice chancellors are the stake holders regarding the bill 2013.

The meeting thus discussed the items including age factor for the appointment of vice chancellors in the varsities, appointing pro-vice chancellor on the main campuses, preparing justification for two continuous terms as vice chancellor or third consequent term as vice chancellor and registration of association of VCs.

The meeting decided to send the recommendations made in the meeting to the Chief Minister and Minister for Education Sindh. The vice chancellors’ committee also decided to meet Syed Qaim Ali Shah in a bid to apprise him from their point of view pertaining to the Sindh Universities Amendment Bill, 2013.

It demanded that the representation to the vice chancellors be given in the higher education committee headed by the Chief Minister of Sindh.

In the meeting, an academic association of VCs was formed which will remain in contact with Govt. of Sindh to resolve the issues relating to the public sector universities in Sindh from to time. Prof. Dr. Nazir A. Mughal was unanimously elected as chairman, while Dr. Qaisar as vice chairman of the association.

Thus Dr. Ali Bux Soomro elected as Secretary General and Mr. Arshad Saleem as Treasurer of academic association. The executive committee of the association comprises of Prof. Dr. Rasheed A. Shah, Prof. Dr. Abdul Qadeer Rajput, Dr. Jai Mal Dhanani and R. B Mirbahar.

Related Posts