Yaqoob Nassar, Lala Rauf become senators

QUETTA: Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Nassar PMLN and Rauf Lala Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party PMAP were declared elected unofficially to the Senate of Pakistan at the polls held here Thursday.

Sardar Yaqoob Nassar polled 24 and Abdul Rauf Lala got 22 votes while JUI candidate Haji Wali Kakar obtained only 5 votes.

Polling for two seats in Senate from Balochistan was held at provincial assembly under the supervision of Provincial election Commissioner Balochistan Syed Sultan Bayazeed.

Polling started at 9 am and Nasrullah Zere of PMAP cast first vote. Polling continued till 4 pm without any break.

A total of 52 MPAs cast their votes in a house of 65. One vote was rejected.

Related Posts