Mamnoon secures 41; Wajeehudin gets 69 votes in KP assembly

Peshawar: Pakistan TehreekeInsaf’s candidate for presidential slot secured 69 electoral votes while his rival Manoon Husain of Pakistan Muslim League N received 41 electoral votes in Khyber Pakthunkhwa Assembly on Tuesday.

A total of 110 votes were polled by the lawmakers of the Khyber Pukhtunkhwa Assembly in a free and transparent manner under secret balloting procedure. 10 members did not cast their votes, as out of them 4 belongs to PPP and four members of ANP had already announced boycott of the presidential election however two of the members one from JUI and another of Qumi Watan Party were unable to come to Pakistan to cast their votes as they were on foreign tour.

Voting started at 10 am at morning and it was continued till 3 pm with only fifteen minutes of break for Zuhar Prayer. Names of the absent candidates were announced repeatedly before the time was about to over at 3 PM.

Chief Justice PHC Justice Dost Muhammad Khan performed as presiding officer for the polling, whereas Provincial Election Commissioner Sono Khan Baloch, Register PHC and Secretary KP Assembly were polling officers.

Pakistan TehreekeInsaf’s 54 members, JamateIslami’ eight, Awami Jamhori Itehad five members and two of the independent candidates supported Justice R wajihuddin how got 69 votes while PML N Manoon husain received 41 electoral votes as 17 members of PML N, 15 legislatures of JUI and 9 MPAs of Qumi Watan Party cast their votes to him.

None of the vote was rejected as all 110 votes were declared valid.

Related Posts