Sindh forms body for textbook reforms

Karachi: Sindh Senior Minister for Education and Literacy Nisar Ahmed Khuhro has constituted a 12-member Advisory Committee on Textbooks Reforms in the province. Convener of the Committee is Director Institute of Education Development, Aga Khan University (AKU) Dr. Mohammad Memon and the members of Abdul Majeed Bhurt, Director, Bureau of Curriculum & Extension Wing, Jamshoro; Dr. Bhai Khan Shar, Director, Center of Excellence Arts and Design, Mehran University, Dr. Neelofer Shaikh, Ex-Vice Chancellor, Shah Latif University; Professor Fateh Muhammad Burfat, Sociology Department, University of Karachi; Dr. Muhammad Qasim Bughio, Dr. Parveen Munshi, Dr. Bernadette, Professor Fozia Khan, Professor Zakia Sarwar, Dr. Mohammad Yar Khuhawar, Ms. Uneeza Alvi and Abdul Faheem Noonari. A notification has already been issued in this regard.

According to a release Khuhro said that the Advisory Committee will review the curriculum from class I to V and identify missing links, gaps and concepts for inclusion. The committee will also oversee the preparation of Textbooks as per reviewed and reformed curriculum. He said the committee will promote the fundamental human rights and democracy in curriculum and eliminate discriminations on the basis of gender, ethnicity and religion.

He said Committee will propose changes in curriculum and also stipulate duplication, overlapping, repetition, bias and other negative value that negatively affecting the learning, growth and world view of the students. Khuhro said that the committee will file recommendations regarding Textbooks reforms after that new curriculum from class I to class V will be compiled and made available in the month of March of the next academic year 2014-2015.

Related Posts